‘Begginigs’

Hi Hi, I’m Millie. This is my first ever post and I am now officially blogging!

Oh Crikey.

If I’ve learnt nothing else from three years of churning out essays for my degree in Classics, it’s that introductions are by far the hardest place to start. What I’m very quickly learning about writing a blog however, is that it’s nothing like composing an essay. There are no regulations or rules, no particular layouts to follow. No referencing, no citations and no justifying arguments with quotations. You are the writer, photographer, director, editor and all other things in-between. It’s your story, your voice and you are free to narrate it however you wish.

So, by way my way of introduction, here is a little list of things about me…

I like bacon, Biscoff Spread and eggs cooked every single way. I have a compulsion for marmite spaghetti, black coffee and I’ll put Sriracha chilli sauce on anything.
If it were possible I’d eat everything with a teaspoon. It is my utensil of choice.
I am fascinated by trees and collect egg shells, buttons and other delicate objects.

I am very easily bored and don’t enjoy nothingness. I like being busy and think, in part, that’s why I decided to start this blog. That, and a significant love of food.

I have always been a mad lover of books. Arundhati Roy’s The God of Small Things being one of my most memorable reads and the pages of which I often find myself returning to. The novel so wonderfully explicates the importance of recognising the ordinary. It is after all so often the case that in memory, the little things remain the most significant.

“Perhaps it’s true that things can change in a day. That a few dozen hours can affect the outcome of whole lifetimes. And that when they do, those few dozen hours, like the salvaged remains of a burned house—the charred clock, the singed photograph, the scorched furniture—must be resurrected from the ruins and examined. Preserved. Accounted for. Little events, ordinary things, smashed and reconstituted. Imbued with new meaning. Suddenly they become the bleached bones of a story.” (Arundhati Roy, The God of Small Things)

My intention with this post, in a round about sort of way, is to introduce myself and my blog. To lay out the purpose, the objective, the mission statement of Milliesfeulle. Which, in a nutshell, is to document and share my kitchen experiences. But also to capture the small things; the reflections, the anecdotes, the musings and the tiny qwerks that will make this blog more than just a collection of recipes and photographs.

Welcome to the beginning

xx

Wednesday 10th February 2016

Leave a Reply

